Audi Q7 limp mode

Discussion in 'Audi Q5, Q7, Touareg TDI, Porsche Cayenne forum' started by Matto Q7 Power, Dec 28, 2016.

  1. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    I own an 2007 Audi 3.0 tdi V6. The car expeirenced limp mode occasionally during driving and after switching the engine off, it will reset. And off I drive again with no power loss. I took the car to Audi and they have indicated that my turbo and electronic actuator need to be replaced.

    I opted not to use my vehicle in this condition and let it stood until i could buy a brand new turbo - the vehicle is out of warranty. It stood at my house for approximately 9 months.

    I eventually replaced the faulty turbo with a new KKK BV50 borg warner turbo a week ago. After this, my vehicle still goes into limp mode. Quicker than before. On engine starting, it revs up, than settles at idling RPM then immediately drops into limp mode.

    I took the vehicle to Audi service center and they read out a P3346 error code. This was the original fault as well before replacing the turbo.

    I am confuse as I though replacing the turbo will fix my car.

    Please can anyone assist thank you
     
  2. xeno555

    xeno555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,684
    Car:
    2012 TDI Tech Package 6mt
    Location:
    Mile High
    Mods:
    Malone Stage II. Rawtek 3" from Turbo to Tail. Slammed on Koni. TSW Nurmburg Rims. Whiteline Sway & Ends. Panzer Plate.
    Did you replace actuator?
     
  3. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    This is a brand new turbo with new actuator.
     
  4. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    Compliments for the 2017.

    Just following up with the members if they experienced a concern like my audi before. Does anyone maybe have the electrical drawing for A 2007 AUDI Q7 3.0 TDI V6. Bug engine. I am trying to trace whether any of the wires from the ECU to the J724 actuator is not broken or shorted to ground.

    Any help will be highly appreciated.
     
  5. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,983
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
  6. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    My appology Keith it's P3348 code. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,983
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
  8. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    Thank you for the link. I am currently busy with wiring harness checking. Do not have a drawing for the electrical of this vehicle though. I have drawn attach information from the web, but somehow I the information for the turbo actuator test refers to 5 pins on the actuator plug, while my vehicle's actuator plug only have 4 pins.:dunno Can you assist further please if possible.

    Electrical drawing will be great. :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,983
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    I've just had a look in ElsaWin 2007 4LB0FL Audi Q7 3.0 TDI V6 Quattro V6171 BTS - 105PS HXG - 6A.

    It shows nothing only fuses & relays.
     
  10. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    Thank you Keith. I came across something strange. :confused I drove my vehicle today it boost over 2500 refs, but when idling it brings up the blinking glow plugs. :bangshead

    Left it for a while and then started it it idles without the blinking glow plugs but when I engage drive it comes back. Additionally when i switch the vehicle completely off, my RPM needle seats below the zero line. see picture. :werd. When I start, the RPM needle only reaches 0,3 RPM. Could this maybe the problem as i did fit a new turbo and actuator from Borg Warner.
     
  11. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    Sorry attached find pic rsz_20170120_111302_li_2.jpg rsz_20170120_111302_li_2.jpg
     
  12. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    Solved - It turns out that my new actuator have not been programmed. Audi SA did a basic setting on the actuator and fault gone:pukerofl:nana
     
  13. Matto Q7 Power

    Matto Q7 Power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Car:
    2007 Audi Q7 3.0 tdi v6
    Location:
    East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
    I still though have the RPM pointer issue - any suggestions members:confused
     

Share This Page