2011 SW Immobilizer triggered, car at dealer

Discussion in 'VW Mk6 Golf, Jetta, Beetle, Sportwagen TDI forum' started by maryswagon, Jun 19, 2012.

1. maryswagon

maryswagon New Member

Car:
    Jetta SW 2011
    Hi All,

First post for the 2011 SW. Love the car, but damn, 17,000 miles and the car went to immobilizer mode. Just pulled into the camp ground parking lot after 250 mile drive and the car went into immobilizer mode. Called VW and got the car towed to dealer. The car could not have failed at a better location, dealer only 6 miles away and they treated me well.

The dealer said that they have not run into this before. They pulled the battery wires, shorted them together, and recoded the car to the key I had on me at the time and the car started up. they kept the car overnight and started it more than 10 times and things went well. I am a chip designer and I fear that the immobilizer could be failing.

Has anyone else run into this problem? I worry that the car will immobilize again at any time. The car will go in for service in about 30 days and i will mention it to my local dealer. i am just spooked now.

Thanks for the info and answers in advance.
    login to remove this ad
  2. Type_TDI

Type_TDI New Member

Car:
    2010 Golf TDi Tech
    My 2010 Golf TDi, bought used, has always displayed "immobilizer active!" at startup. Did you get this message? the more I own my car, the more I think it's stolen :) and some day I half expect the dealer to call up and say something to this effect. Even though it was bought at a VW dealership, the things I keep uncovering scare me...

In my case, the precious owner probably hosed the coding through vag com causing this message. In your case it's probably just a fluke.

I'm an EE and get your concern over the electronics going bad. It's a digital communication between the key and an MCU somewhere, it either works or it doesn't. I would worry about the key before the car electronics though.
  3. matty67