2009 Jetta TDI Sportswagen Need Advice

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by BSE, Jul 9, 2014.

1. BSE

BSE New Member

Car:
    2009 jetta tdi sportswagen
    If I've posted this in the wrong area please forgive me as I'm new to this. My wife's 2009 Jetta TDI Sportswagen (113K) just started making some grinding or scraping noises coming from the engine area when driving, seems more prevalent in lower gears or when letting off the gas as the vehicle slows. Idling along in a higher gear it's not noticeable. Three times over the last three weeks the "engine fault workshop" light has flashed momentarily but then disappears, there are no other warning lights when this happens. In the past day or two there have been a couple of times when I put the car in reverse it doesn't engage and I have to put back in Park and then Reverse before it goes.

There is no loss of power and if you had the music turned up you would never no there was an issue as the car is driving and shifting fine. There has always been a slight delay when starting from a stopped position and if you're not aware of it the car could lurch forward but if you know this you can compensate for it by how you apply pressure to the gas pedal. I took to VW dealership and they said it needs a new transmission and quoted me a price of 5500$ which just seems crazy as the car was driving and shifting fine. I don't feel as they looked into it closely any are just throwing that out there as a grand fix for this issue.