2006 Audi a4 2.0tdi oil pump problem

Discussion in 'New TDI forum member introductions' started by Noel, Jul 19, 2011.

1. Noel

Noel New Member

Car:
    hey! Ok im brand new to this so have patience!! I bought an audi a4 2006 2.0tdi a few months back. Its the 140 bhp model. I always take care of any car I have and nothing is overlooked. Howver a big problem was encountered last week when the low oil pressure light came on. I immediately turned it off and it was towed to my local garage. Basically this is what has happened since then. The garage checked the pressure of the oil to make sure that it was not a faulty switch that had set it off. The switch was proven to be correct and there was no oil pressure of any sort reaching this location. When i started the car to allow him to carry out the test I noticed that the brake pedal was gone hard and hard to push. I found this strange as it was perfect before and there had not been any issue with the brakes. Upon the garage finding no evidence so far to what was wrong he went about removing the sump which resulted in the engine having to be lifted up to get room to get the sump out. When he opened the housing for the oil pump unit I will describe as best as i can what was going on. I suppose this is where I should have a pic at the ready!! The actual oil pump was in the top left corner of the assembly. This is connected to a small thin hexagonal pin that travels to the right that is connected into what I was describe as a balancer?? This is meshed that with gears below it which spins then in the opposite direction. I had heard that a common problem that would occur was that the pin would round out and stop the oil pump spinning. However the pin is in perfect condition. What happened is that the pin rounded out the hexaginal shaped recieved part in the balancer unit. I rang the main dealer who has said that you cannot buy this part seperate first of all, that it has been replaced with an entirely different oil pump com